THE MARRIAGE LICENSE AND BIRTH CERTIFICATE DEPARTMENT ONLY ACCEPTS CASH FOR PAYMENT. WE DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS IN THIS DEPARTMENT.
The Marriage License/Birth Certificate Department is now located at 310 Church St., directly across the street on the west side of the Old Courthouse building.
Ph: (985) 873-8376
Fax: (985) 868-5143
Supervisor: Becky Usie
The Marriage License/Birth Certificate Department is responsible for the issuance of Marriage
Licenses and certified copies of Birth Certificates and issuance of birth cards.
Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, applicants for a Marriage License must meet the
- State certified copy of either a birth certificate or birth card for both parties. If either party was born out of the country, a translated notarized birth certificate along with a valid state ID card or driver’s license.
- Proof of age-applicants must be 18 years old or older. (See #11 below)
- If either applicant is between the ages of 16 and 18, the signature of both parents is required. If younger than 16 years of age, written consent of both parents and written permission from a Judge is required.
- Licenses must be purchased at least 72 hours in advance of the ceremony.
- A Marriage License expires thirty (30) days from the date of issue if not used.*
- Licenses obtained in Louisiana may only be used in Louisiana.
- Fees: The cost is $40.00, plus $5 for any additional attachments (waiver, translation, divorce judgment, etc.)-cash only. Checks are not accepted. No credit cards accepted.
- A medical certificate is not required.
- A copy of your signed judgment of divorce, if applicable.
- A copy of death certificate of former spouse, if applicable.
- Original driver's license, passport, or government issued identification.
BEFORE YOU COME IN OR CALL, CLICK HERE FOR A LIST OF REQUIREMENTS FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE!
CLICK HERE TO PRINT OUT THE APPLICATION TO FILL OUT BEFORE YOU COME IN TO OUR OFFICE.
Note: All marriage licenses must be returned to the Clerk of Court’s Office within thirty (30) days of issuance.
*A marriage license expires and becomes invalid at midnight thirty (30) days after the date of issuance. If the service is postponed, you must turn in the old license and purchase a new one.
COVENANT MARRIAGE ACT
To apply for a marriage license under the Covenant Marriage Act, the couple must comply with all of the above requirements as stated above for a Marriage License. In addition, the couple must receive premarital counseling from clergy of any religious sect or from a professional marriage counselor, which counseling includes:
- A discussion of the seriousness of Covenant Marriage.
- The obligation of a Covenant Marriage to take reasonable efforts to preserve the marriage if marital difficulties arise.
- That each party has read the pamphlet entitled “The Covenant Marriage Act” developed and promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General.
- A Declaration of Intent (see below for form) must be signed by the clergy or counselor and brought to the Office of the Clerk of Court.
A marriage license will then be issued and stamped “Covenant Marriage”.
BIRTH CERTIFICATES and BIRTH CARDS
FEES (RS 40:40 AND RS 40:39.1)
BIRTH CERTIFICATES/BIRTH CARDS – Individuals born in Louisiana from the year 1903 to the present may obtain a certified copy of their Birth Certificate from the Clerk of Court’s Office. Individuals born before the year 1903 must go to the Vital Records Office located at 1450 Poydras St., New Orleans, LA 70160. For more info call 504-593-5100.
BIRTH CERTIFICATES - $24.00 (Cash or money order only-no checks or credit cards) Effective 08-01-2016 the price for a birth certificate will increase to $34.00.
BIRTH CARDS - Birth cards can ONLY be purchased as a package with a birth certificate. You may NOT purchase a birth card individually (Effective 05/27/16-Act 270 of the 2016 Legislative Session)
Birth Certificate and Birth Card package is $38.00 until August 1, 2016. Effective 08-01-2016 the price will be $48.00 for the package.
NOTE: THESE ITEMS ARE PRINTED ON OFFICIAL FORMS OBTAINED FROM THE VITAL RECORDS REGISTRY AND ARE PRINTED VIA A DIRECT LINK FROM THE VITAL RECORDS OFFICE TO THE CLERK’S OFFICE OVER THE INTERNET. THERE IS AN APPROXIMATE WAIT OF ONE HOUR FOR PROCESSING.
An individual applying for a Birth Certificate must appear in person. No individual can appear and request a either on another individual. There are a few exceptions. Call the Clerk of Court’s Office for further information, if needed.
IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS: Must produce identification in the form of one primary document or two secondary documents.
1. A state issued Driver’s License that includes a photograph that clearly identifies the
applicant as the same.
2. A state issued picture identification that includes a photograph that clearly identifies the
applicant as the same.
3. A current U.S. military identification card that includes a photograph that clearly identifies
the applicant as the same.
4. A U.S. Passport with current photograph that clearly identifies the applicant as the same.
5. For students that are in high school or below, a current school yearbook or a current
school identification document with a photograph that clearly identifies the applicant as
1. A student picture ID card from a Louisiana college or university when accompanied by a
100% fee paid receipt for the current semester. Note: This counts as two documents.
2. A W-2 form issued within the last two years plus an original signed Social Security card.
The Social Security numbers must match. Note: This counts as two documents.
3. A certified copy of adoption papers.
4. Official certified deeds or title to property in Louisiana.
5. Louisiana certificate of vehicle title.
6. Insurance policy (Health, Life, Auto).
7. A payroll stub. The stub must show the name and Social Security number of the
Note: Cannot be handwritten.
8. A current U.S. military dependent identification card that includes a photograph that
clearly identifies the applicant as the same.
9. Original DD-214 Military Discharge document that clearly identifies the bearer as the
10. A medical card with the applicant’s name on it.
11. A Social Security card that is signed.